# MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL OPEN MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF GOLDEN RAIN FOUNDATION OF LAGUNA WOODS A CALIFORNIA NON-PROFIT MUTUAL BENEFIT CORPORATION

November 20, 2015

The Special Open Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Golden Rain Foundation of Laguna Woods, a California non-profit mutual benefit corporation, was held on Friday, November 20, 2015 at 24351 El Toro Road, Laguna Woods, California.

Directors Present: Mike Comer, John Beckett, Richard Johnston, John Parker,

Margaret Klein, Beth Perak, Judith Troutman, Mary Stone,

Kathryn Freshley

Directors Absent: JoAnn di Lorenzo, Richard Palmer

Others Present: Kim Taylor

#### **CALL MEETING TO ORDER**

President Mike Comer called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM, indicated that a quorum was present, that the meeting was held pursuant to notice duly given.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Director Parker moved to approve the agenda as written. Director Beckett seconded the motion. By a vote of 8-0-0 the motion carried.

#### **MEMBER COMMENTS**

There were no Member Comments.

#### **DIRECTOR RESPONSE TO MEMBER COMMENTS**

There were no responses to Member Comments.

#### **GRF COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS**

The Board reviewed revisions to the GRF Committee Appointments. Director Parker moved to approve the resolution. Director Johnston seconded the motion and discussion ensued.

Parker moved to amend the resolution to eliminate the Administrative Process and Procedures Committee. Director Johnston seconded the motion. Further discussion ensued.

Without objection, the Board agreed to remove Chase Kendro from the Finance Committee and the Financial Reporting Study Group and to remove all Advisors from the resolution to allow each Committee to choose their new Advisors.

By a vote of 7-0-0 (Director Freshely did not vote) the motion carried and the Board adopted the following resolution as amended:

## **RESOLUTION 90-15-65**

# **GRF Committee Appointments**

**RESOLVED**, November 20, 2015 that the following persons are hereby appointed and ratified to serve on the Committees of this Corporation:

## **Administrative Process and Procedures Ad-Hoc Committee**

Richard Johnston, Chair (GRF)

John Parker (GRF)

Sharon Roddan (GRF)

Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

**Bunny Carpenter (Third)** 

Juanita Skillman (United)

Jack Bassler (United)

Eva Lydick (United)

Ryna Rothberg (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisor: TBD

## **Business Planning**

Kathryn Freshley, Chair (GRF)

Mike Comer, Chair (GRF)

Margaret Klein, Vice Chair (GRF)

Richard Johnston (GRF)

Sharon Roddan (GRF)

Jim Matson (Third)

Wei-Ming Tao (Third)

Pat English (United)

Lenny Ross (United)

Chace Kendro (Mutual 50)

## **Clubhouse 2 Renovation Ad Hoc Committee**

Mary Stone, Chair (GRF)

Kathryn Freshley (GRF)

Judith Troutman, Chair (GRF)

John Parker (GRF)

Dick Palmer (GRF)

Jim Matson (Third)

Bill Walsh (Third)

Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

Judith Troutman (Third)

Jack Bassler (United)

Ken Hammer (United)

Ryna Rothberg (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD

## **Community Activities**

Mary Stone, Chair (GRF)

JoAnn di Lorenzo, Vice Chair (GRF)

Beth Perak, Chair (GRF)

Margaret Klein, (GRF)

John Parker (GRF)

Beth Perak (Third)

Burt Baum (Third)

Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

Jan LaBarge (United)

Ken Hammer (United)

Tom Sirkel (United)

John Dalis (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD Judy Dailey

## **Energy Committee**

John Parker, Chair (GRF)

Dick Palmer, Chair (GRF)

JoAnn di Lorenzo (GRF)

Richard Johnston, Vice Chair (GRF)

Bert Moldow (Third)

John Luebbe (Third)

Bill Walsh (Third)

Eva Lydick (United)

Ken Hammer (United)

Jack Bassler (United)

Henry Nahoum (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD Michele Stanton, Doug Rook

#### **Finance**

Margaret Klein, Vice Chair (GRF)

Mike Comer, Vice Chair (GRF)

Richard Johnston, Chair (GRF)

Mary Stone, (GRF)

Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

Wei-Ming Tao (Third)

Pat English (United)

Lenny Ross (United)

Chace Kendro (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisor: TBD

## **Financial Reporting Study Group**

Kathryn Freshley (GRF)

Margaret Klein, *Chair* (GRF)

Mike Comer, Vice Chair (GRF)

Richard Johnston, Chair (GRF)

Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

Wei-Ming Tao (Third)

Pat English (United)

Lenny Ross (United)

Chace Kendro (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisor: TBD

## Landscape

John Parker, Chair (GRF)

JoAnn di Lorenzo, Vice Chair (GRF)

XXXX (GRF)

Lucy Shimon, Chair (GRF)

James Tung (Third)

Judith Troutman (Third)

# **Bunny Carpenter (Third)**

Jan LaBarge (United)

Eva Lydick (United)

Sy Wellikson (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD Elizabeth Morris, Pamela Grundke

## **Maintenance & Construction**

Judith Troutman, Chair (GRF)

John Parker (GRF)

Sharon Roddan, Chair (GRF)

Richard Palmer, Vice Chair (GRF)

Kathryn Freshley (GRF)

Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

Bunny Carpenter (Third)

## **Bert Moldow (Third)**

Jack Bassler (United)

Don Tibbetts (United)

Ryna Rothberg (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD John Frankel, Kim Shirley

## **Media and Communications**

Stanley Feldstein, Chair (GRF)

## Beth Perak, Chair (GRF)

JoAnn di Lorenzo, Vice Chair (GRF)

John Beckett (GRF)

Beth Perak (Third)

John Luebbe (Third)

# Rosemarie di Lorenzo Dickins (Third)

Bill Walsh (Third)

Jan LaBarge (United)

Juanita Skillman (United)

November 20, 2015

Henry Nahoum (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD Carol Skydell, Jonathan Adler

#### **Mobility & Vehicles**

Lucy Shimon, Chair (GRF)

John Beckett, Vice Chair (GRF)

Dick Palmer (GRF)

XXXX

Bert Moldow (Third)

David Finley (Third)

Ray Gros (Third)

Ming Lee Chang (United)

Tony Dauer (United)

John Dalis (Mutual 50)

Non-Voting Advisors: TBD Mary Kay Tibbetts and Shirley Niederkorn

# **Security and Community Access**

Sharon Roddan, Chair (GRF)

Margaret Klein, Chair (GRF)

JoAnn di Lorenzo, Vice Chair (GRF)

John Beckett (GRF)

Ray Gros (Third)

John Luebbe (Third)

**Burt Baum (Third)** 

Eva Lydick (United)

**Anthony Liberatore (United)** 

Ming Lee Chang (United)

Tom Sirkel (United)

Lou Parker on behalf of (Mutual 50) – non-voting representative Non-Voting Advisors: TBD Denny Welch, Mary Kay Tibbets

# Laguna Woods Village Traffic Hearings

Stanley Feldstein (GRF)

John Beckett (GRF)

John Parker (GRF) - Alternate

**RESOLVED FURTHER**, that Resolution 90-15-43 adopted August 4, 2015, is hereby superseded and cancelled; and

**RESOLVED FURTHER**, that the officers and agents of this Corporation are directed on behalf of the Corporation to carry out this resolution.

#### **VILLAGE MANAGEMENT SERVICES INTERVIEWS**

The Board interviewed the following applicants:

John Frankel

Wayne Hall

Golden Rain Foundation of Laguna Woods Special Open Meeting Page 6 of 6 November 20, 2015

Monika Hobson Daniel Kenney Marika Raima Montegnies

The following applicants were not in attendance: Maxine McIntosh Bevan Strom

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There	being	no	further	business	to	come	before	the	Board	of	Directors,	the	Meeting	was
adjour	ned at	11:	15 AM.										_	

Judith Troutman, Secretary Golden Rain Foundation